Well, I passed. Not only the Technicians Class, but the General Class licenses. I didn't perfect them in any fashion. Still need to work on antenna design theory to say the least. I'll have plenty of time to deal with that. After all, I have plenty of time to just relax and study at my leisure.
The head of The 220Mhz Guys managed to "convince" me to take the Extra License exam as well, not liike I'd have to pay. I figured, fuck it and took it anyway. Didn't even think I'd get more then a handful right. Well, I was told I got 23 correct. That was a hell of a lot more then I thought I would get. I figured at the very most I might be able to guess my way to 17 correct, max. Talk about a bit of a surprise.Had I really studied, I might have been able to pull that one off as well.
And now, the waiting game begins. I know I've passed, but that's all I got so far. As much as I really want to start talking to people, I still need to wait to pop up in the FCC database. One of the great things these days, once you're in the FCC system and the info is available online, you can go live. No need to wait until you get the license sent from the FCC in the mail. Pretty sweet deal. At least I won't have to wait three to four weeks.
Since I'm set with that, I ordered the data cable and a couple antennas for the Baofeng. After all, the rubber ducky is alright to listen, but I might need a bit better to transmit. While I wait, I can take the time to set up the Baofeng for the repeaters in the area. Listening, I've come across a few, but we'll see how they are with newcomers. That's my biggest worry, the local community's response to a new HAM.
No comments:
Post a Comment